Kacmarik - OMCPA 2016 Pharmacist of the Year

Don Orlando presenting to Katie Kacmarik

Don Orlando presenting to Katie Kacmarik

The Ohio Marshall County Pharmacist Association announces Katie Kacmarik as the 2016 Pharmacist of the Year:  

Continuing Our Yearly Tradition Of Honoring A Local Pharmacist As “Pharmacist Of The Year”, We Are Pleased To Recognize A Dedicated Individual For Their Service To The Profession And The Community.

Born and raised in Wheeling, West Virginia, our recipient graduated from Wheeling Park High School in 2004; received her Bachelors of Science in Biology from then West Liberty State College; and was accepted to the West Virginia University School of Pharmacy. While at WVU, she served as president of the National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) student chapter, participated in Pharmacy Day at the West Virginia Legislature and legislative visits at the United States Capitol, and received the Dean’s Award for outstanding volunteer work.

Upon graduation from West Virginia University in 2012, she returned to the Northern Panhandle to begin her career as a pharmacist at Moundsville Pharmacy, with a focus on managing the pharmacy’s clinical and specialty services. In her short career, she has concentrated her professional development in the areas of long-term care consulting, pharmacy compounding, bio-identical hormone replacement, medication therapy management, diabetes education, and pharmacy compliance.

In 2014, Moundsville Pharmacy credits her for receiving the OutcomesMTM Top MTM Center award for West Virginia; and in 2015, was recognized as the Pharmacy Development Services Pharmacist of the Year for her contributions to independent pharmacy in the co-development of the SyncRx+ synchronization and medication therapy review program. Together, the recipient and her team have trained over 200 independent pharmacies from across the country in the processes of the SyncRx+ program.

This year’s recipient serves on the Board of the West Virginia Pharmacist Association and is the current President of the Ohio Marshall County Pharmacist Association. In addition, she serves on the West Liberty University College of Sciences Advisory Board. She enjoys assisting in the precepting of West Virginia University, the University of Charleston, and Marshall University students in their Ambulatory and Compounding rotations.

For these and many other attributes and accomplishments, please join me in congratulating our colleague, and the 2016 OMCPA Pharmacist of the Year, Katie Kacmarik.